People News

Germany-based Bayer AG's supervisory board appointed Marijn Dekkers to CEO, effective October 1, 2010. Dekkers succeeds Werner Wenning, who will retire on September 30, 2010. Dekkers is currently president and CEO at Thermo Fisher Scientific, a US-based medical equipment company. Dekkers will join the company's management board on January 1, and succeed Arthur Higgins as CEO of Bayer HealthCare during his transition to Global CEO. Higgins will leave the company during the first half of 2010, for personal reasons, according to a statement. Additionally, Werner Baumann will succeed Klaus Kuhn as CFO upon his retirement on April 30, 2010. Baumann will join the management board on January 1, along with Dekkers.  

Maryland-based Sucampo Pharmaceuticals announced the appointment of James Egan to chief operating officer, a newly created position. Egan will report to Ryuji Ueno, chair and CEO. Additionally, Sucampo announced the promotions of Stanley Miele to president of Sucampo Pharma Americas, and David Dodds to president of Sucampo Pharma Europe. Miele and Dodds will report to Egan. Sucampo, an international biopharma, is focused on the development and commercialization of medicines based on prostones, a type of bio-lipid that occurs naturally in the human body.


Next Article in Channel