PhRMA re-elects Amgen’s Sharer chairman, names Merck’s Clark chairman-elect

PhRMA elected Merck CEO and president Dick Clark as chairman-elect and AstraZeneca CEO David Brenner as treasurer, putting them in line to serve as the group’s 2008 and 2009 chairmen, respectively. Amgen CEO and president Kevin Sharer was re-elected as PhRMA chairman. Sharer took over as chairman from Peter Dolan last year after Dolan resigned from his role as CEO of Bristol-Myers Squibb.