Merck's Clark elected board chairman of PhRMA

Share this article:
PhRMA members elected Merck's Dick Clark to serve as this year's chairman of the board, with AstraZeneca's David Brennan next in line as chairman-elect and Pfizer's Jeff Kindler being named board treasurer.
Clark, who took over as CEO of Merck in 2005 and is widely credited with turning the company around, succeeds Amgen's Kevin Sharer in the role, which he'll hold for one year. PhRMA president and CEO Billy Tauzin saluted Sharer for providing “steady and motivating guidance to our industry during his tenure – a time when challenges are significant but our companies' commitment to research and development remains strong.”
Joining the group's board as full members were Takeda North America president Mark Booth, Sigma Tau COO Greg Lapointe and Ovation president and CEO Jeff Aronin. Other recent additions include Wyeth president/CEO Bernard Poussot, Lilly president and COO John Lechleiter and GSK president, US pharma Chris Viebacher.

Share this article:
You must be a registered member of MMM to post a comment.

Next Article in Channel


Patient access to pharmaceuticals is a tale of two worlds—affordability has improved for the majority, while the minority is hampered by cost, distribution and red tape. To provide marketers with a well-rounded perspective, MM&M presents this e-book chock full of key insights. Click here to access it.

More in Channel

Five things for pharma marketers to know: Monday, September 15

Five things for pharma marketers to know: ...

Pharma has sought 76 meetings with FDA over biosimilars; Gilead licenses Sovaldi to India generic drugmakers; Pfizer and Ranbaxy Lipitor lawsuit dismissed.

Liraglutide, aiming for new indication, gets new name

Liraglutide, aiming for new indication, gets new name

Why Novo Nordisk is choosing not to leverage Victoza's brand equity as it seeks a weight-loss indication for liraglutide.

Five things for pharma marketers to know: Friday, September 12

Five things for pharma marketers to know: Friday, ...

An FDA panel voted in favor of liraglutide for weight loss; Allergan investors backing an attempted takeover of the firm crossed a critical threshold; and 100 million health wearables are ...