PhRMA taps BMS’s Dolan as trade group chairman

Share this article:
The Pharmaceutical Research and Manufacturers of America (PhRMA) has elected Peter Dolan, Bristol-Myers Squibb CEO, as chairman of the group. He replaces Bill Weldon, CEO of Johnson & Johnson, and will serve a one-year term. Others elected at the PhRMA annual meeting in Washington, DC, were Dolan’s successor, chairman-elect Kevin Sharer, who is the CEO of Amgen, and board treasurer Karen Katen, who is Pfizer’s vice chairman. Dolan set priorities such as improving patient access to medicines—as PhRMA did with its Partnership for Prescription Assistance—and developing formal pandemic response planning for rapid delivery of medicines and other support. The three board members will “focus on consistent, long-term solutions to today’s healthcare challenges that will deliver the maximum benefit to patients,” Dolan said in a statement.
Share this article:
You must be a registered member of MMM to post a comment.


Patient access to pharmaceuticals is a tale of two worlds—affordability has improved for the majority, while the minority is hampered by cost, distribution and red tape. To provide marketers with a well-rounded perspective, MM&M presents this e-book chock full of key insights. Click here to access it.