MAHF names 2008 inductees

Share this content:

The Medical Advertising Hall of Fame (MAHF) named Robert Baldini, John Corcoran and Richard Cliggott as its 2008 inductees.

Baldini led C & G advertising, Ciba-Geigy's in-house advertising group for most of the 1970s and early 1980s, where he and his staff created some of the most innovative advertising of its time. Baldini also served as SVP of sales and marketing for Key Pharmaceuticals from 1982-86, and continued with Key after its acquisition by Schering-Plough until 1995. From 1998-2001, he was chief sales and marketing officer for Kos Pharmaceuticals.

Corcoran's career in medical advertising spanned over 40 years. Corcoran was a pioneer in establishing the first truly global medical advertising operation, serving as president and creator of Sudler & Hennessey's International Network. There he was responsible for the launching and managing of11 agencies worldwide. Following his return to the US, he served as COO of FCB Healthcare, CEO of Euro RSCG Life, and a founding partner and president of HealthSTAR Communications.

Cliggott spent 40-plus years in medical publishing and helped pioneer medical education for physicians. He started his career at Medical Economics Company in 1959, moving up to become VP and publisher. In 1970, he founded Cliggott Publishing, with Consultant as its flagship publication, and led the company to a position as a leading medical publishing firm with a stable of top titles.
In addition to these three inductees, the MAHF will honor Audrey Girard with a lifetime achievement award and M. James Dougherty with a service to industry award.

Girard served as advertising manager for J.B. Roerig, becoming one of the first top female executives at a major pharmaceutical company. She was the first woman president of the Pharmaceutical Advertising Club.

Dougherty has spent over 30 years in healthcare publishing, most of it running McGraw-Hill's healthcare properties. He has served as president of the Pharmaceutical Advertising Council, the Association of Medical Publications, was a co-creator of PhRMA's Patient Assistance Program and helped in the founding of the Coalition for Healthcare Communications.

The MAHF Annual Awards Dinner will be held Tuesday, February 12, at the Pierre Hotel in New York with a cocktail party beginning at 6:00 pm.

The MAHF was founded in 1996 to honor those who have made significant contributions to the medical advertising profession, document the history of the industry and attract next-generation talent to the medical advertising profession.

Its membership is open to healthcare advertising agencies and publications, and currently consists of the leaders of nearly 40 agencies and publishing companies.

Share this content:
Scroll down to see the next article