Merck's Clark elected board chairman of PhRMA

Share this content:
PhRMA members elected Merck's Dick Clark to serve as this year's chairman of the board, with AstraZeneca's David Brennan next in line as chairman-elect and Pfizer's Jeff Kindler being named board treasurer.
Clark, who took over as CEO of Merck in 2005 and is widely credited with turning the company around, succeeds Amgen's Kevin Sharer in the role, which he'll hold for one year. PhRMA president and CEO Billy Tauzin saluted Sharer for providing “steady and motivating guidance to our industry during his tenure – a time when challenges are significant but our companies' commitment to research and development remains strong.”
Joining the group's board as full members were Takeda North America president Mark Booth, Sigma Tau COO Greg Lapointe and Ovation president and CEO Jeff Aronin. Other recent additions include Wyeth president/CEO Bernard Poussot, Lilly president and COO John Lechleiter and GSK president, US pharma Chris Viebacher.

Share this content:
Scroll down to see the next article