New hires:

Kyle Jenne rejoined Ionis Pharmaceuticals as EVP and chief global product strategy officer.

GCI Group, a 2023 MM+M Agency 100 honoree, appointed Chelsea Bodow Bova to the newly created role of EVP, global head of business development. 

Health tech consultancy Innsena appointed Britteny Matero to partner and SVP.

Fore Biotherapeutics named William R. Hinshaw as its CEO.

Vaxart tapped Steven Lo as CEO.

San Diego-based VedaBio named Maurice Exner, PhD as chief operating officer.

Genesis Research Group appointed David Miller, PhD as chairman and CEO.

Alvotech named Christina Siniscalchi as interim chief quality officer.

Late-stage clinical biotech Prothena selected David Ford to serve as chief people officer.

EyePoint Pharmaceuticals appointed Ramiro Ribeiro, MD, PhD as chief medical officer.

Coefficient Health named Alli Nawara as VP, group account director and Mike McKeever to lead its creative operations. 

Adaptimmune announced that Cintia Piccina is returning as chief commercial officer.

Executive elevations:

Julio Triana will become president of Bayer’s consumer health division on May 1, succeeding Heiko Schipper.

Additionally, VedaBio promoted Frédéric Sweeney, PhD to CEO.

Peregrine Market Access promoted four employees.

Board appointments:

Novartis shareholders approved all resolutions proposed by the board of directors and confirmed Joerg Reinhardt as chair.

Sandoz announced that Mathai Mammen and Michael Rechsteiner were nominated to its board of directors.

The Coalition for Health AI named Dr. Brian S. Anderson, chief digital health physician at Mitre, to be its first CEO and named John Halamka, MD, MS as board chair.

Vivani Medical added Daniel Bradbury to its board of directors.

Elanco shareholder Ancora nominated four director candidates for election.

AI startup Limmi appointed Dr. John Moody to its advisory board.

Devonian Health Group named Kathryn J. Gregory to its board of directors.

Alain Trudeau resigned from the board of directors of Theratechnologies.

Aerovate Therapeutics’ board of directors named Habib Dable as board chair.


Sandoz CFO Colin Bond announced that he will retire on June 30. He will be succeeded by board member Remco Steenbergen, who will also join the executive committee on July 1, 2024.

Sumitomo Pharma said Myrtle Potter, president and CEO of Sumitomo Pharma America, will leave the company at the end of the month.

Peloton Interactive SVP of global communications Ben Boyd is leaving the company after nearly two years. 

See last week’s edition of The Escalator.